Flora and Sucrose

Last weekend I traveled the arduous 60 miles from school to home and escaped from college life for a couple of blissful days.  I managed to drag my boyfriend out of bed early Saturday morning to accompany me on a lovely little outing to the fabulous farmers market in my hometown.

 

He bought me bouquet of gorgeous gerbera daisies, which I brought back to school with me. They are still thriving a week later.

The guy selling the corn was quite a character. Every time we walked by he had something interesting to say about everything from the latest presidential debate to the gastronomic preferences of the British. So by the fourth time around we were convinced we had to try an ear of his super sweet corn. I have to say it was quite delicious.

We also got a bouquet of dahlias for my boyfriend’s grandmother’s birthday, a few white nectarines, and some honey sticks – my sister’s favorite farmers market fare. 

 

“The meanings of gerbera daisies stem from those attributed to the general daisy family. These meanings include innocence and purity, and daisies are also a classic symbol of beauty. However, the gerbera variety holds an added meaning of cheerfulness, which stems from the assortment of colors available. An assorted bouquet of gerbera daisies can lift the spirit and sending one is an ideal way to brighten someone’s day.”  http://www.proflowers.com/flowerguide/flowermeanings/daisy-meanings.aspx

Leave a Reply

