Devoured

dsc00607

My dorm was trying to do an Iron Chef style bake-off between our Resident Assistant and me. We were all super excited because apples were to be the secret ingredient, but the event never really materialized. My boyfriend had already unscrupulously procured a half dozen apples for me from the dining commons, so I decided to go with an apple cake for this week’s baking project.

dsc00609

And what a success it was. I’d just finished baking and had hardly gotten a chance to carry the cake upstairs when it started looking like this:

dsc00608

Within ten minutes it was gone and I even had someone scrubbing the pan for me because they wanted the pleasure of scraping the last gooey bits off the bottom. 

This recipe was so easy. The most time consuming part was peeling and slicing the apples. I’m sure I’ll get better at that though!

For next time: three more minutes in the oven, the center was a bit softer that I like.

 

Russian Apple Cake

 

4 apples

1 T cinnamon

3 eggs

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 T baking powder

 

Preheat oven 350F.

Peel and slice the apples, arrange the slices in concentric circles in an 8″ round cake pan.

Sprinkle cinnamon over apples.

Beat together eggs and sugar.

Add baking powder, mix well. Mix in flour.

Pour batter over apples.

Bake 30-35 minutes.

2 Responses to “Devoured”

  1. karen, your anonymous stalker :) Says:

    http://surelygoodnesscupcakery.blogspot.com/
    I found a new blog for you to follow 🙂

  2. dinak Says:

    I just found this. My mom makes something very similar to this, but its made in a bundt pan. its always gone within two days when she makes it.

Leave a Reply

