B-A-N-A-N-A-S

I’m super proud of myself. This is probably the first recipe that I pretty much came up with on my own. I was looking all over the Internet for a dense, nutty banana loaf, but didn’t find any that exactly suited my needs. I did find one that sounded amazing – full of crushed pineapple, flaked coconut, walnuts, and banana – but I didn’t want to make a trip to the grocery store. Other recipes seemed to cake-y and not banana-y enough. So I found some basic recipes, used those as a basis for proportions for wet/dry ingredients. Then followed my gut.

Here’s what I ended up with:

dsc00860

See how dense, moist, and nutty that is?

And the surface of the cake turned out beautifully, thanks to my lovely, new, non-stick Bundt pan.

dsc00857

Banana Bundt Cake

1/2 cup butter

8 oz. cream cheese

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup plain yogurt

5 medium bananas-mashed

3 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup chopped, toasted walnuts

Mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat butter and cream cheese.

Add sugars, beat until well incorporated.

Mix in eggs, one at a time.

Add  yogurt and mashed bananas. Mix until smooth.

Stir in flour, periodically scraping sides of bowl.

Fold in walnuts.

Bake in preheated 350F oven for 45-50 minutes, or until skewer inserted into center of cake comes out clean.

One Response to “B-A-N-A-N-A-S”

  1. karenloveyang Says:

    Sandra, I’m so proud of you! Being able to make something original from scratch! I agree-the fishbowl cupcakes look really cute. I am so glad you’re having so much fun with Hello Cupcake! This blog is definitely making me hungry!!

Leave a Reply

