Chicken and Potatoes

After a relaxing weekend, it is really tough to get myself out of bed at 730 in the morning to go to a boring 8am class. Getting through the rest of the day isn’t much easier. All I want to do is snuggle in my covers and nap. But alas, I must fill my head with organic chemistry.

Photo 62

Then after a long day of leaning I must cook. Because eating is necessary.

Yesterday this proved to be a daunting task. Rummaging through the refrigerator, I found all kinds of food. An eggplant, some carrots, a little chunk of smoked salmon, tomatoes, bell peppers, leftover asparagus soup… but nothing really struck my fancy.

After grumbling for a bit, attempting to start on my homework, and generally not being productive, I called my mother. And then I was inspired. My mother returns home from 8+ hours of work every day to prepare dinner for the family. No matter what happened at work that day, no matter how tired she is, by the time we’re all hungry, dinner is ready. Yesterday she shared a smidgen of her magic with me. Over the phone, she explained this very simple, very tasty dish. There is no recipe, you just pour things in until it looks/smells right.

DSC01240

Chicken and Potatoes

Dump chicken (I used drumsticks) and a couple slices of ginger in a nonstick pan over high heat. Make sure your pan is big enough to fit all your chicken in 1 layer. Cook about 3 minutes, then turn and cook other side for 3 minutes.

Add soy sauce, cooking wine, a little vinegar, to cover the chicken about halfway. Toss in a couple cloves of garlic (smashed with the side of a knife.)

Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Cut a potato into chunks and add that to the pot. Cover and simmer for 8-10 more minutes or until potatoes are soft.

Salt to taste.

Best if served over rice, but also tastes good with bread (if that’s what you happen to have a lot of.)

Leave a Reply

