Father’s (Birth)Day

Happy Birthday Daddy!

When I asked my sister for suggestions for cake decorations she said that my dad is obsessed with trees. I laughed. Then I said, okay, I don’t have any better ideas. So I made trees. I think it looks like a Father’s Day cake.

078

I haven’t baked and decorated a cake for a looong time. Made some whipped chocolate ganache for this one. Filled with Chocolate Pastry Pride and crushed chocolate sandwich cookies (the generic kind because I’m cool like that ^-^.) The cake is just white cake mix… reduced oil, added non-fat plain yogurt, extra egg, milk instead of water. I didn’t really measure ingredients for anything in this cake. Seems to have worked out. Heh.

083

I couldn’t find my piping tips, so there is no border on the cake. They might be at my apartment. I don’t really know where anything is anymore. It’s so hard to live in two places at once. The trees are made of candy melts. Yellow and blue mixed together, piped into 1/2 tree shapes. Each tree has six “petals.”

Whipped Chocolate Ganache

Ingredients

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

2 cups heavy whipping cream

Directions

1. Melt the chocolate chips over a double boiled, stirring constantly.

2. Add 1 cup of cream at a time, whisking until smooth.

3. Cool in refrigerator. Best if overnight. Or if you’re super impatient like me, 20 minutes…

4. Whisk using an electric mixer until fluffy. Place a bag of frozen peas under the bowl if you didn’t let it cool enough. 🙂

2 Responses to “Father’s (Birth)Day”

  1. Sophia Says:

    Your dad is obsessed with trees… HAHA I laughed too! Your dad is the best!!! ahhahaa

  2. edith Says:

    So purty! Love the icing job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

